'Dogs Dominate MWC Awards

COLORADO SPRINGS, CO -- The Fresno State football team cleaned up on the 2012 Mountain West end-of-the-year awards that the league announced on Tuesday...

The Fresno State Bulldogs became the first team in Mountain West history to have the league's Offensive Player of the Year, the Defensive Player of the Year and the Freshman of the Year. The awards are voted on by the league coaches and media that cover Mountain West teams.

Quarterback Derek Carr was named the 2012 Mountain West Offensive Player of the Year, safety Phillip Thomas was voted as the Defensive Player of the Year and receiver Davante Adams was selected as the Freshman of the Year.

Carr becomes the ninth Bulldog to earn league Offensive Player of the Year accolades and the first since his brother, David Carr, did so in 2001. Thomas is the 10th Fresno State player to be named the Defensive Player of the Year, following Chris Carter's selection in 2010. Adams becomes just the third Bulldog to be named the Freshman of the Year and the first since Ryan Wendell in 2004.

In addition to the player of the year honors, a total of seven Bulldogs were named to the 2012 All-Mountain West football first-team, two were named to the second-team and six were selected to the honorable mention team.

Joining the players of the year on the 2012 All-Mountain West Football first-team were running back Robbie Rouse, offensive tackle Austin Wentworth, nose guard Tyeler Davison and free safety Derron Smith.

Carr, Thomas and Adams were all unanimous first-team all-conference selections. Thomas is the third DB in league history to earn unanimous first-team honors, while Carr is the fifth QB with that distinction. Adams is the first MW freshman and second WR in conference history to be selected to the first-team unanimously. He is just the second freshman wide receiver in MW history to be named to the first-team.

Fresno State's two second-team selections were defensive end Andy Jennings and linebacker Travis Brown. This is the first career all-conference selection for Jennings and for Brown it marks the third-straight season he has received all-conference accolades.

Making the honorable mention team were cornerbacks Sean Alston and L.J. Jones, receiver Isaiah Burse, offensive lineman Richard Helepiko, tight end Marcel Jensen and punter Andrew Shapiro.

BroncoCountry.com Recommended Stories

  • Peyton Manning emerged alone atop yet another category in the NFL record book tonight vs the Niners, as he tossed touchdown #509 under the national spotlight of Sunday Night Football (NBC). (Photo…

  • Former USC and NFL running back LenDale White added tons of drama to what was a relatively quiet Homecoming weekend for the Trojans.

  • Here’s a way to watch football and improve your golf swing at the same time. In your living room (or on the range), practice the one-minute golf swing, as shown in this video. Set the timer on your…

  • Dr. Roto, like many others, can't believe Seattle Seahawks QB Russell Wilson (pictured above) passed for over 300 yards and rushed for over 100 yards in the same game. First time that's ever happened…

  • As soon as those winds fall off, get into the stand! I always tell people you can't kill them if you aren't out, but if you want to try and pick an opportune time – this is it.

Up Next

FRESNO, CA -- The Fresno State football team accepted Sunday an invitation to play in the 2012…


375 Fans online
Join The Conversation